top of page

Student of the Week: Jungyoon Yooni Choi


This is new a segment from BHA called Student of the Week. One student will be interviewed from BHA once in two cycles so you get a chance to get to know students filled with Branksome spirit.

Our first student from BHA is our Editor in Chief of PPJ Branksome, Jungyoon Yooni Choi!

Sylvia: Where were you before coming to BHA and how long have you been at Branksome?

Yooni: “I’ve attended a girl’s Korean school for six months, three years at NLCS, and this is my third year at Branksome. As a result, I have been at school with only girl’s since primary school, since NLCS has classes separated by gender.”

Sylvia: What brought you to BHA? Do you enjoy life here at Jeju?

Yooni: “First of all, my younger sister was already at Branksome. I had no exact, definite reason for coming to BHA. However, Branksome is an IB school like my previous school, NLCS. Since I had no difficulty with my academics at NLCS, I had no worries about pursuing my IB education at BHA.”

“This is my sixth year living on Jeju, I have basically spent my whole teenage years on this island. One thing that I do love about Jeju is the weather. The thought of winter on this island gives me the chills but the weather on the island is beautiful other than the winter weather. Despite the beautiful weather, a point that I find a bit disappointing about the school is that it is located in a remote area. I find myself in my room most of the time and not outside as much as I would like to. However, it has given me the chance to spend time and focus on my literary work such as, writing and reading. ”

Sylvia: What are you aspirations outside of school?

Yooni: “At the moment, I have my hands deep into writing activities. I am working as a journalist writing articles for Jung-ang Illbo (중앙일보), a newspaper company and I write original poems. Since I do enjoy writing, I along with two other students started the tri-school web magazine, Platform Post Jeju heading towards its third year. Also, I feel passionate towards women’s’ rights. To express my passion, I am one of the student leaders working at YOUTHECA, which is a student leadership platform and have started a student charity called ‘Paperplane’. One memory that I still carry to this day is the parties I held for children with single mothers. I wanted the single mothers to feel strong enough to face society. Overall, writing is huge portion of how I express my literary talent and my passions.”

Sylvia: What is your goal as a student?

Yooni: “Not to get stressed. DP is a rigorous course. I see people getting stressed, but I do not get stressed as much. I am flexible with my stress. I do work when I feel like it. Yes, I am a procrastinator but I can logically justify why I procrastinate. By procrastinating, I get less stressed. It is just a part of who I am and my way of getting work done. Procrastinating has not taken a toll on my grades and once I have my mind set on work, I get it done. If I want to add one more point, I have a day where I do not study at all. I would be on FaceBook for five hours straight; I would strongly recommend trying the chocolate flavoured rice crispy. One day of not studying will not make a huge difference.”

Sylvia: Do you have any future goals in general?

Yooni: I don’t have an exact answer of what future goals I have; I am more of person that goes with the flow. However, as university essay writing season has come, it gave me a chance to think about what I would like to do and that is when I thought of Media and Law. Firstly, You get money, and I want to look cool by challenging law. I want to beat the ‘hardness’ and sternness image of law. Also, since I have been working with women’s right issues, I believe that I can find a point of contact to work with women’s rights in the future.

Sylvia: Are there any tips or anything you would like to say to the readers?

Yooni: “Having many thoughts are not what hold you together, they can be the reason that may make you collapse. Don’t worry about things in advance, do what makes you feel happy. Eventually, you are living life for yourself and not for anyone else. You most likely don’t even remember of what you were thinking about the day before. You wouldn’t remember what you were worrying about a month or a year before as well. Will the worries you have in the past, worry you in the present? I don’t think so. Time will carry your worries away at some point. When you worry in advance it is like hurting yourself by making your thoughts more complicated.”

“When people ask who my role model is, I answer with Sulli, former member of the girl group f(x). Sulli lives life as she wants without caring what others may say about her. I want to tell the readers to do what makes them happy because life is supposed to be happy but to a point where you don’t affect those around you in a negative way.”

Sylvia: What is something people might not know about you?

Yooni: “People assume that I am a person with no thoughts and someone who talks with a rough tone, which makes it harder for people to approach me. However, I cry a lot while watching movies and while listening to sad music. Overall, I am an emotional person as you possibly can tell through my writing pieces. Also, I know that I am a bright person. One memory I still carry to this day is when Ms. Lee told me that my smile brings a smile upon her face. Ms. Lee’s comment has touched me and means great significance. The fact that my smile can make those around me smile is valuable to me. ”

Platform Post Jeju would like to thank Yooni for taking the time to take this interview.

Platform in You
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Instagram Black Round
  • Google+ Basic Black

You can enjoy reading

Platform Post Jeju

anytime you want,

anywhere you are.

 

Follow us on social media

to get the fastest news of

Global Education City

bottom of page