top of page

STEM Fair


<photography by Jiyun Nam>

On March 9th and 10th the STEM (abbreviation for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Fair, which is an annual science fair competition between the three schools of Jeju Global Education City, was held at NLCS. The Branksome girls have put the best of their efforts into the fair by conducting their own research and investigations on a wide array of scientific research questions. Today Platform Post Jeju interviewed several students through grades 6 to 10 to hear their thoughts about the STEM Fair.

How do you feel about your STEM Fair experience? What was the most exciting/hardest part of the STEM Fair?

Student 1: This is my first time participating in the STEM Fair and therefore at first I really did not know how to start off my project, as I was unfamiliar with all the research and experiment process involved. However I did sincerely enjoy having an experiment to answer my very own research question.

Student 2: I also loved participating in the STEM Fair. Science is one of my favorite subjects and the STEM Fair served as a great opportunity for me to deepen my scientific knowledge. Planning out my very own experiment and analyzing the results was a bit tricky, but other than that I enjoyed the project.

Student 3: Like everyone else the STEM Fair was a meaningful experience to me. I enjoyed working with my partner to figure out the answer to our very own research question even though making the poster and writing out the conclusion at the very end of the investigation was a little difficult.

<photography by Jiyun Nam>

How have participating in the STEM Fair made you a better scientist?

Student 4: Participating in the STEM Fair have made me a better scientist as I had to apply my scientific knowledge in solving my research question which enabled me to demonstrate self-learning and critical thinking.

Student 5: I believe have became a better scientist through my STEM Fair experience as analyzing the results of my project allowed me to actually find out whether my hypothesis is supported and to figure out any errors or mistakes made during the investigation.

What would you try to improve on if you were to participate in the STEM Fair again next year?

Student 6: I think that I did a fairly good job in this year’s STEM Fair and I did actually win an award at the ceremony. Nonetheless I would try to improve and challenge myself even more by coming up with an original research question rather than conducting my experiment on a topic that sounds familiar to everyone.

Although not all the students were recognized at the award ceremony, all the participants definitely deserve a huge round of applause and the STEM Fair served as a great opportunity for the girls to express their unique scientific creativity. Thank you all participants for being actively engaged in the fair.

Platform in You
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Instagram Black Round
  • Google+ Basic Black

You can enjoy reading

Platform Post Jeju

anytime you want,

anywhere you are.

 

Follow us on social media

to get the fastest news of

Global Education City

bottom of page