top of page

INCANDESCENT- 10TH SPARK

Hello, Subscribers!

It is my 10th time to produce the INCANDESCENT Series! Since it’s time to introduce the 10th spark, I would like to start off by introducing this video.

‘What’s the definition of Peace?’ by Branksome Inner Peace

Today, I would like to introduce one of the clubs I am leading and feel strongly passionate about. Branksome Inner Peace is a peace club affiliated with the local NGO ‘Global Inner Peace’. Branksome Inner Peace strives hard to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that was recently declared by the United Nations. Its initiatives are “GLOCAL”, meaning that the members approach and examine international issues within a local context. Starting from participating in ‘the International Day of Peace Festival in Jeju’, Branksome Inner Peace is continuing its journey towards Peace by participating in ‘2015 Stepping stones for Peace’, organizing fundraiser events and so on.

Okay, I have talked enough. Rather than me introducing about Branksome Inner Peace, I think it is more worth to show you the perspective of the member ot the Branksome Inner Peace. I had an interview with Sylvia Yang, one of the outstanding members in Branksome Inner Peace. Sylvia has been part of Branksome Inner Peace since the beginning, and she has been actively involved in the club than anyone. You will hear more about Branksome Inner Peace from the interview. Check it out!

Hi Sylvia. You’ve been a member of Branksome Inner Peace for 6 months, and I wonder what drew you into this club. Could you tell our readers about the reasons why you decided to join Branksome Inner Peace?

Sylvia: At first, I didn’t know what Branksome Inner Peace was really about. My friend and I were interested because the club was peace-related and different from other clubs. Also, I knew Hyunji Kim from Platform Post Jeju, which also motivated me to join because I knew she would be a great leader to work with.

I hope your positive anticipation towards Branksome Inner Peace turned out to be true:) What makes Branksome Inner Peace special to you? If there are differences between Branksome Inner Peace and other CASE clubs, what would it be?

Sylvia: When most of the school clubs help you academically, BIP (Branksome Inner Peace) helps you to grow as a person by branching out your understanding further. BIP gives students a chance to have a connection with Jeju local community by establishing a partnership with the local NGO Global Inner Peace. As a student who attends school in the Global Education City, I had never gotten to explore and learn about Jeju before I joined BIP, except the Hallabongs and the Osulloc Tea Museum. BIP provides students to interact with a wider community. For instance, BIP is learning about the Jeju people who were forced to move to Japan or went to Japan for sustenance of their families(Zainichi or Japanese-Jejuian). These Jeju people are still in Japan left without a nationality, which leaves their children without a nationality.

What is your favourite event you’ve had in Branksome Inner Peace so far?

Sylvia: My favorite event that I took part in for Branksome Inner Peace would have to be the 2015 Peace Stepping Stone. This event took place in November where we were partnered up with international students studying at Halla and Jeju University. I was excited that I met some old international friends that I met when I participated in the Peace Festival in September. My partner and I toured around historical Jeju sites with the whole group and had a delicious hotel buffet dinner at the end. This event allowed me to communicate and socialize with other international students in Jeju.

What initiatives are you carrying out these days?

Sylvia: Our team is holding a fundraiser on February 22 to support the vulnerable women in developing countries. My friend and I have been put as the organizers. I have taken part in many fundraisers in the past, but this is the first time I was put as the organizer, which I am excited for.

Although it was a spur-at-the-moment interview, Sylvia was kind to share her experiences and thoughts she had in Branksome Inner Peace. If you are intrigued with the initiatives that Branksome Inner Peace is carrying out, please subscribe to Branksome Inner Peace Facebook Page for more information! Bye! https://www.facebook.com/branksomeinnerpeace/

Platform in You
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Instagram Black Round
  • Google+ Basic Black

You can enjoy reading

Platform Post Jeju

anytime you want,

anywhere you are.

 

Follow us on social media

to get the fastest news of

Global Education City

bottom of page