top of page

Grade 9 Course Selections

Within the IB system provided at Branksome Hall Asia there is a special “choice” given to the ninth graders, which is to select two arts courses that will be studied for one semester each. The students are to choose between Music, Drama and Visual Arts, and now that it is the end of the semester, the students get to course select for semester two. Platform Post Jeju today interviewed several grade nine students about their course selections.

What arts course have you been studying for semester one, and what course have you selected to attend for semester two?

Student 1: I have been studying Visual Arts for this term and I am becoming a Drama student for semester two. I really enjoyed Visual Arts and would love to solely attend Visual Arts for both semesters. However, grade nines are required to select two arts courses, and since I am not a fit for music, I chose Drama to attend for the upcoming semester.

Student 2: I have also been studying Visual Arts for this term and I am transferring to Music for semester two. I am actually a little relieved to change my course to Music as I was receiving bad grades from Visual Arts. I am not that good at organizing my Visual Arts journal, and obviously Ms. McGifford (our Visual Arts teacher) did not give me a good grade on journal organization. I would try my best to get 7 or an 8 for Music during term two.

Student 3: I am a Drama student transferring to Visual Arts. I am excited to take Visual Arts for the upcoming term since I enjoy drawing and doodling during my free time. At the same time however, I am a little worried, for a lot of my friends have struggled with completing their mount of assignments from Visual Arts during term one.

Student 4: I have been studying Music for term one and transferring to Drama for term two. I am a little sad at the fact that I don’t get to study music anymore during grade nine, but I also like Drama classes as much as Music.

Are you satisfied or disappointed with your course selection? Why?

Student 1: I am somewhat satisfied with my course selection. I am not that talented at handling any musical instruments nor do I have the ability to read musical notes. Although I am new to the school this year and have not attended any Drama classes, I have a great interest towards musicals and maybe, Drama can be a fit for me.

Student 2: I am a lot disappointed and frustrated with my course selection. I have signed up for Drama but somehow I was assigned to Music. I tried visiting Dr. Lock, but the school said that they did not have room left to accept any more Drama students.

Student 3: I personally think that I made a successful course transfer. Actually, I was assigned to Music even though I had signed up for Drama. I was frustrated until I had one of my friends wanting to transfer to Visual Arts from Drama, which meant that there would be a room for Drama. I visited Dr. Lock and could successfully make a transfer to Drama.

Student 4: I am very satisfied with my course selection. I hate drawing and painting, and therefore my interest is absolutely out of Visual Arts. Compared to grade seven and eight where I was obliged to take all three arts courses, I am grateful to be allowed a choice where I can solely focus on my interests.

Although some of the interviewees failed at making a successful course transfer, most were happy with their course transition and agreed to the fact that selecting two arts courses out of three gives them an opportunity to discover their interests and deepen their knowledge. Hope you enjoy your semester two classes, grade nines, and good luck!

Platform in You
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Instagram Black Round
  • Google+ Basic Black

You can enjoy reading

Platform Post Jeju

anytime you want,

anywhere you are.

 

Follow us on social media

to get the fastest news of

Global Education City

bottom of page